• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland



  • According to the Statute, the Council of Europe has two organs: 


    Council of Europe building - Committee of MinistersCommittee of Ministers (CM) - a decision-making body of the Council of Europe. It is composed of ministers of foreign affairs of all CoE Member States. The Committee of Ministers meets at the ministerial level once a year during ministerial sessions held in May. When meeting at ministerial sessions the CM deals with the most important issues of the European cooperation or political problems of Europe. The daily work of the Council of Europe is governed by the Committee of Ministers’ Deputies (CMD) composed of ambassadors – permanent representatives of all CoE Members States, who represent their respective ministers to the Committee. They usually meet every Wednesday in Strasbourg.


    Parliamentary Assembly  (PACE) – an advisory body of the Committee of Ministers and at the same time a pan-European representation of national parliaments. It is composed of 648 representatives of  national parliaments of all CoE Member States. The number of seats for every delegation depends on the number of citizens of the country it represents.  The composition of delegations should reflect the political situation in their respective national parliaments. Delegates to the Parliamentary Assembly seat according to their membership of political groups. The Parliamentary Assembly meets four times a year at plenary sessions. It monitors the compliance by Member States of their obligations to respect human rights and democracy standards. A significant part Meeting room of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europeof the PACE's work is devoted to social issues. Wojciech Sawicki from Poland is the Secretary General of the PACE while Pedro Agramunt (Spain) holds the post of its President.


    Moreover, upon the decision of the Committee of Ministers the following CoE organs were created: 


    Congress of Local and Regional Authorities (CLRAE) – an advisory organ of the Committee of Ministers representing local and regional authorities of the CoE Member States. It is composed of 648 members whose mandates stem from local or regional elections. Two chambers form the Congress: the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. The main task of the Congress is to promote local and regional democracy and support local self-governance. It attaches particular importance to the implementation of the principles enshrined in the European Charter of Local Self-Government.


    Flag of the Council of Europe - arrasConference of International non-governmental organisation (INGOs) – an organ representing civil society of the CoE Member States. It is composed of over 320 international NGOs. The Conference engages European non-governmental organisations in the activities of the Council of Europe and creates a platform for their dialogue with governments, parliamentarians and local authorities, thus strengthening the role of the civil society on the European and international level. The current President of INGO Conference is Anna Rurka from Poland.


    All the above CoE organs and other institutions are supported by the Secretariat General of the Council of Europe headed by:


    Secretary General – organ responsible for the daily work of the Council of Europe. He runs the work of the CoE Secretariat and is one of the CoE representatives in external relations. At present, Norwegian Thorbjørn Jagland exercises this function since 2009 (he was reelected for the second term in 2014).

    Print Print Share: