• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland


  • NEWS 2006-2010

  • The 2008 Europe Prize has been awarded to the Polish town of Katowice. The decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs of the Council of Europe's Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) meeting today in Strasbourg.

    This town in Upper Silesia, developed a very dense network of international contacts with municipalities in central, western and eastern Europe, the United States of America and China. It developed a very intense co-operation in Europe with Strasbourg and Saint-Etienne (France), Cologne (Germany), Groningen (Netherlands), Odense (Denmark), Ostrava and Opava (Czech Republic), Miskolc (Hungary) and Kosice (Slovakia). Thanks to its numerous economic, scientific and socio-cultural institutions, Katowice furthered numerous European projects with foreign towns.

    Katowice, which was already awarded the Flag of Honour in 1998 and the Plaque of Honour in 2000, is the third Polish town to receive this award, after Czestochowa and Gdynia.

    Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.

    * * *

    The Plaque of Honour, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize, was awarded to eleven municipalities:

    Austria   Reiβeck (Carintia)
    Belgium  Halle (Flemish Brabant)
    France   Charnay-lès-Mâcon (Saône-et-Loire)
    Germany  Bonn-Hardtberg (North-Rhine-Westphalia)
       Brackenheim (Baden-Wurtemberg)
       Eggenfelden (Bavaria)
       Königsbronn (Baden-Wurtemberg)
    Poland   Goleniów (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)
       Rybnik (woj. Śląskie)
    Ukraine   Kharkiv 
    United Kingdom  Stockport (Greater Manchester, England)

    The Flag of Honour was awarded to 19 municipalities this year:

    Czech Republic Zubří (together with Rosdorf)
    France   Amilly (Loiret)
       Andrésy (Yvelines)
    Germany  Auenwald (Baden-Wurtemberg)
       Hude (Oldb) (Lower-Saxony)
       Kressbronn am Bodensee (Baden-Wurtemberg)
       Marktheidenfeld (Bavaria)
       Rosdorf (Basse-Saxe) (together with Zubři)
       Waldbronn (Baden-Wurtemberg)
       Wissen (Rhineland-Palatinate)
    Hungary  Csorna
    Italy   Russi (Ravenna Province)
    Lithuania  Druskininkai (Alytus County)
       Panevėžys (Panevėžys County)
    Poland   Kędzierzyn-Koźle (woj. Opolskie)
       Lublin (woj. Lubelskie)
       Mrągowo (woj. Warmińsko-Mazurskie)
    Ukraine   Ivano-Frankivsk
    United Kingdom  Rushmoor B.C. (Hampshire)

    23 municipalities were granted the European Diploma:

    France   Civrieux d'Azergues (Rhône)
    Germany  Altenberge (North Rhine Westphalia)
       Aschaffenburg (Bavaria)
       Schwabenheim (Rhineland Palatinate) 
    Italy   Alfonsine (Ravenna Prov.)
       Capannoli (Pisa Prov.)
       Codigoro (Ferrara Prov.)
    Lithuania  Ignalina (Utena County)
       Kaunas (Kaunas County)
       Šalčininkai (Vilnius County)
    Švenčionys (Vilnius County)
    Varėna (Alytus County)
    Netherlands  Borne (Overijssel)
    Poland   Bolesławiec (woj. Dolnośląskie)
       Dąbrowa Górnicza (woj. Śląskie)
       Lubliniec (woj. Śląskie)
       Malbork (woj. Pomorskie)
       Nysa (woj. Opolskie)
       Tarnów (woj. Małopolskie)
    Romania  Caracal
    Slovenia  Metlika
    Spain   Lorca (Murcia)
       Sant Cugat del Vallès (Catalonia)



    Print Print Share: