• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland


  • NEWS 2006-2010

  • On the 25 June 2008 in Strasbourg, the 2008 European Diploma of the Council of Europe have been awarded to the mayors of the 22 municipalities from all over Europe. The Diplomas are awarded every year by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) to municipalities in recognition of their work in promotion european cooperation idea (such as participating in twinning programmes). This is the first step on the way for applying for the "Europe Prize" the highest prize awarded by PACE. Two further stages are the Flag of Honour and the Plaque of Honour.

    Among the prize-winners of the European Diploma 2008 are six Polish municipalities: Bolesławiec, Dąbrowa Górnicza, Lubliniec, Malbork, Nysa and Tarnów. Moreover, the Diplomas were also collected by the representatives of five Lithuanians cities and two German and Spanish.

    The "2008 Europe Prize" has been awarded to the Polish town Katowice, which is the third Polish city to receive this award. The official award ceremony will take place in September in Katowice. The Europe Prize was set up by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1955 to recognize outstanding efforts in promotion European values.

    On the occasion of handing over of the diplomas for the Polish municipalities Ambassador Piotr A. Świtalski, the Permanent Representative of the Republic of Poland to the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, met the representatives of Polish cities. The meeting was attended by Mr Mateo Sorinas, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly, Mrs. Danuta Jazłowiecka, Head of the Polish Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly and other members of the Delegation. Concert of young musician of the State School of Music in Nysa gave a splendor to the event.









    Print Print Share: